Showing Collections: 51 - 75 of 1184
Baker Family Papers
Correspondence, bonds, and accounts of Jacob Baker of Monongalia County, West Virginia and Nelson Baker and Jonathan W. Baker of Alleghany County, Maryland. Includes letters written from Washington, Iowa, Piedmont, West Virginia, and from Missouri as well as letters written by a student at St. John's College, Annapolis, Maryland.
Frank D. Baldwin Letter and Biography
Harlan H. Ballard, Jr. Papers
Baltimore Woman's Committee for Cuban Freedom
Includes newspaper clippings, photographs of and correspondence with committee members and politicians, and a scrapbook, all concerning the activities of the Baltimore Woman's Committee in Maryland, also referred to as the Baltimore Women's Committee for Cuban Freedom.
John Strode Barbour Letter to Editor of the National Intelligencer, 1829 February 10
Letter, 1829 February 10, John Strode Barbour, House of Representatives, Washington, D. C., to Editor of National Intelligencer. 1 p. ; 25 cm. Letter concerns a dispute with Congressman Elisha Whittlesey.
Philip L. Barbour Papers
S. B. Barham Papers
Bills and accounts, 1904-1910, of Dr. S. B. Barham, Runnymede, Surry Co., Va. Includes a letter, 26 January 1907, to Barham concerning the rebuilding of the Surry County Courthouse.
Barker-Cooke Papers
Letters and business papers, chiefly 1848-1866, of James E. Cooke of Powhatan, Virginia and the Barker family of Fluvanna County, Virginia. Includes letters relating to the hiring out of slaves, plantation operations and the Civil War. Civil War letters are between John H. Barker and Henry J. Dobbs of the 18th Virginia Regiment of the Confederate army concerning the Battle of First Bull Run/Manassas.
Barksdale Papers
Correspondence, 1888-1897, of G.A. Barksdale and E.C. Barksdale of Richmond, Va. concerning the renting out of rooms and concerning the cancellation of a river excursion from Richmond to Norfolk, Va.
Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough Collection
Papers, 1909-1966, relating to institutions in Williamsburg, Virginia including William and Mary, Matthew Whaley School and Bruton Parish Church collected by Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough.
C.M. Barnes Letters
A collection of eleven letters dating from 1926 to 1928 addressed to Olive Barnes from her mother, C.M. Barnes. One of these includes a letter addressed to C.M. Barnes from Mildred and Verne Barnes. Mother writes from Opportunity and Dishman, to Olive in Kewa, Newport, Pullman, and Washtuca, Washington state.
Letters include discussion of the act of writing letters, local news and acquaintances, listening to the radio, visits, and advice on Olive’s teaching career.
Baron de Watergeul Boom Letter
Letter written on December 4, 1781 from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania by Baron de Watergeul Boom to "Mon Cher Ami" concerning celebration on board French ship after Yorktown Campaign. He writes poetry about the party, particularly talking of bachelorhood. Baron de Watergeul Boom may be a pseudonym. Includes poem with classical allusion which is annotated. Original letter is written in French, but English transcription is included.
Barraud Family Papers
Barron Family Papers
James Barron Papers (I)
Herbert H. Bateman State Senate Records
Annie R. Battle Letter
November 22, 1878 letter from Annie R. Battle, Whitakers, Washington County, North Carolina, to Mr. Donnan requesting he send her what money he can spare and is sorry he received nothing on the Smith debt.
Baytop Family Papers
Letters, 1838 August - September 6, of Lucy T. Baytop and her son Thomas C. Baytop to James Baytop, Gloucester Court House, Va. and including a letter, 1838, of Thomas C. Baytop to Jefferson W. Stubbs. The letters are written from Richmond, Va., Staunton, Va. and Lewisburg, Va. [now W. Va.] and concern a trip to Lewisburg.
Joseph Beale Letter to his Wife
Letter written April 27, 1854 from Joseph Beale, U.S. Germantown, Montevideo, South America, to his wife, in care of Col. Blow, Norfolk, concerning his fondness for his wife and child and his wish to leave the Navy as a doctor and enter into private practice. ALS
Samuel Beale Letter to Nicholas Law
Letter, 6 August 1785, written by Samuel Beale of Williamsburg, Virginia. In the letter, Beale asks Nicholas Low, a merchant from New York City, New York, for assistance in releasing Neil Jameison from military duty.
Beard Papers
Papers (including correspondence) of Eva V. Beard, Nannie S. Beard, and John Link Beard of Augusta County, Virginia. Includes letter, 1843, of J. E. Carnes describing a trip by land and river boat from Augusta County, Virginiaa. to Licking County, Ohio (describing Virginia, West Virginia, and Ohio, particularly Cincinnati); a portion of John L. Beard's account book, 1834-1865, listing coffins made; and an order for exchange of Civil War prisoners at Richmond.
Henry Ward Beecher Manuscript
Manuscript draft, dated October 30, 1864, written by Henry Ward Beecher comparing Abraham Lincoln to Wendell Phillips, being particularly praiseworthy of Phillips. Typescript included.
Charles H. Bell Papers
Edward Belvin Collection of Williamsburg and James City County materials
Edward Belvin's Collection of Williamsburg and James City County, Virginia material. Includes copies of wills and death certificates, correspondence and certificates.
Benjamin F. Bray Scrapbook
This collection consists of a scrapbook, from 1944 to 1945, kept by Benjamin F. Bray while a freshman at the College of William & Mary. This single brown volume contains programs, clippings, pictures (not photographs), and letters.